# Minutes Taylor County Board of Commissioners Regular Meeting January 7, 2025

The Taylor County Board of Commissioners met in regular session at 6:00 p. m. on Tuesday, January 7, 2025, in the County Commissioners Meeting Room of the Taylor County Government Complex at 7 Ivy St., Butler, GA. Present were Vice-Chairman Tameka Harris, Commissioner Cicero Latimore, Commissioner Jeff Watson, Commissioner Dianne Renfroe, Commissioner Randy Nelson, County Manager Amanda Queen, and County Attorney Eddie Davis.

At 6:01pm, Judge Jennifer Williams swore in our Commissioners to serve their 4 year terms.

Vice-Chairman Tameka Harris, presiding, called the meeting to order at 6:05pm Fitz Brown, Pastor at Mt. Pisgah Baptist Church, gave the invocation. Commissioner Latimore led the Pledge to the United States Flag and Commissioner Nelson led the Pledge to the Georgia Flag.

Vice-Chairman Harris called for nominations for Board of Commissioners Chairman for 2025. Commissioner Harris was nominated by Commissioner Nelson, seconded by Commissioner Latimore. There being no other nominations Vice-Chairman Harris called the vote which was carried with all in favor, and none opposed.

Chairman Harris called for nominations for Board of Commissioners Vice Chairman for 2025. Commissioner Latimore was nominated by Commissioner Nelson and seconded by Commissioner Watson, there being no other nominations Chairman Harris called the vote which was carried with all in favor, and none opposed.

Chairman Harris called for nominations for County Attorney for 2025. Eddie Davis was nominated by Commissioner Latimore, seconded by Commissioner Nelson. There being no other nominations Chairman Harris called the vote which was carried with all in favor, and none opposed. The Commissioners agreed to the following appointments:

ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE Chairman: Commissioner Renfroe Vice Chairman: Commissioner Watson

FINANCIAL COMMITTEE Chairman: Commissioner Nelson Vice Chairman: Commissioner Latimore

PUBLIC SAFETY Chairman: Commissioner Harris Vice Chairman: Commissioner Nelson

PUBLIC WORKS Chairman: Commissioner Watson Vice Chairman: Commissioner Renfroe

HEALTH & WELFARE Chairman: Commissioner Latimore Vice Chairman: Commissioner Harris

Commissioner Nelson made a motion to approve the committee appointments, seconded by Commissioner Latimore, carried with a voice vote of all in favor, none opposed.

Agenda approved without change on motion of Commissioner Latimore, seconded by Commissioner Nelson, and carried with all in favor.

The Minutes of the November 7, 2024, Regular Meeting were approved as distributed on motion by Commissioner Nelson, seconded by Commissioner Watson and carried by voice vote with all voting in favor and none opposed.

## Citizens scheduled to appear:

1. none –

## **Reports:**

Akeenon Bridges, Planning and Zoning - none

<u>Abb Preston, Taylor County EMS</u> – Mr. Preston reported that during 2024, there were 1,935 Emergency calls, with 1,164 transports. For the month of December, EMS used 196 gallons of gasoline fuel and 836 gallons of diesel fuel. The Trauma Commission has halted all funds for EMS classes, so we have no First Responder class going on right now.

<u>Jamason Byrd, Taylor County Fire Department</u> – Mr. Byrd was not available, Mr. Thomas Hoffman reported on his behalf, there were 12 calls in the month of December, totaling 142 calls for the year. The December fuel cost was \$471.

<u>River Valley Regional Commission</u> - Mr. Tom Queen gave the report with not much going on at the moment.

<u>Garrett Bosely, Project Manager</u> – Mr. Bosely stated that the road work is completed on County Line Church Rd. We have been working with engineer Rick Saunders for the 2025 LMIG Project, which roads need work completed. Bringing 2 options to the Board, one is a 70% resurface, 30% dirt road improvement, the second option was 100% resurfacing. The Board made the option for number 1 to improve a dirt road. Mr. Bosely reminded the Board and the public that it costs \$187,000 per mile to resurface, versus \$1.8 million to pave a mile. Commissioner Latimore made the motion to go with Option 1 for our LMIG project, seconded by Commissioner Watson, carried with a voice vote of all in favor, none opposed.

## **Unfinished business:**

None.

## New business:

<u>Appoint Members to Boards</u> – Ms. Queen stated there are several local boards that need appointments, the first is the E911 Board, Ms. Lenda Taunton's term has expired, Commissioner Latimore made a motion to appoint David Windham to the E911 Board since he is our Emergency Management Director. Seconded by Commissioner Renfroe and carried with a voice vote of all in favor, none opposed.

Secondly, the Airport Board, Rob Peacock's term has ended and he wishes to serve again. Commissioner Watson mentioned that Travis Hardy would be a good person to serve on this board, Ms. Queen said she will get in contact with him for future appointments. Commissioner Nelson made a motion to re-appoint Rob Peacock to the Airport Authority Board, seconded by Commissioner Latimore, and carried with a voice vote of all in favor, none opposed. Thirdly, Mr. Eric Gordon's term has expired on the Development Authority, Ms. Queen stated that she would like to propose Mr. Milton Harris to serve on the board. Commissioner Latimore made a motion to appoint Milton Harris to the Development Authority Board. Commissioner Nelson seconded the motion and carried with a voice vote of all in favor, none opposed.

<u>Hotel/Motel Tax Funds - Chamber</u> – Ms. Queen stated that currently we have the golf course that has sent in its first check, the amount is \$440 which is the 5% tax. It is recommended to send this full amount to the Chamber instead of the 40% currently allocated to the chamber. In the event that this amount increases it will go back to the regular 40%. Commissioner Watson made a motion to approve sending the entire amount to the Chamber of Commerce up to 5k a year then it will revert back to the 40% for the rest of the year. Commissioner Latimore seconded and the motion is carried with a voice vote of all in favor, none opposed.

<u>Sheriff's Department Bonus Resolution Approval</u> – Ms. Queen stated that the citizen has sent in a check for the Sheriff's Department 2024 bonus, we just have to approve to accept and disburse the funds, this will be to the employees as of December 2024. Commissioner Watson as former Sheriff abstained from this vote. Commissioner Latimore made a motion to approve the Sheriff's department bonus, seconded by Commissioner Nelson, carried with a voice vote from Commissioner Latimore, Commissioner Nelson, and Commissioner Renfroe, with none opposed.

<u>Waiver Signing for Resolution of Tax Fees and Penalties</u> – Ms. Queen stated that this resolution is completed each year for Shirley Graham, the Tax Commissioner to make the decision case by case on waiving any fees and penalties. Commissioner Latimore made a motion to approve the resolution, seconded by Commissioner Watson, carried with a voice vote of all in favor, none opposed.

<u>Approve Vote on House Bill 581</u> – Ms. Queen said that there will be 3 hearings regarding the Homestead exemption opting out of the statewide House Bill 581, January 21 at 10am, January 23 at 10am, and at 6pm on February 4th immediately prior to the February regular meeting.

Commissioner Latimore made a motion to move the meeting into Executive Session, seconded by Commissioner Renfroe. The meeting was moved into Executive Session at 7:15pm.

The meeting was adjourned at \_\_\_\_\_ (information not provided)

Work session followed for the Budget FYE 06.30.2025.

mb